How the Years have past.   44 comments

Asked Rob to place this post for me, see I’m working full time and my day starts at 5.15 am and ends at 5.45 pm, I’m helping out at the Church creche. I’m the local resident Granny, looking after all the babies, I love this job although it does remind me what age I am.

My MiL gave us an old cabinet that her father had made, a beautiful piece of furniture. He was a carpenter so you can imagine what it looks like.

But the biggest surprise I got was when opening the drawer there were a few old photos of the Bulldog and me. This first one is from the day we married back in 1973.

Rob looking like the hit man from the local mafia with his mollโ€ฆ oh how this photo brings back memoriesโ€ฆย Image

The second photo is when we moved into our house we bought in 1991, the Bulldogs hair is beginning to take the trip South, but it was a happy day from long ago, and having lost all our photos in a flood in 2001, these are now very precious…

Hope you enjoy our past….

Image

Posted 21/01/2014 by linda in Life with Rob

Tagged with

44 responses to “How the Years have past.

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think you both look HOT..since those were the days ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m glad you found some photos back, Linda, and these are gorgeous ๐Ÿ™‚ Don’t work to hard! Pawkisses for an Easy Sunday ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. How wonderful that you share these. You both look fab and very happy ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I have missed seeing you in the blogging world Linda but now I understand your absence. It is always wonderful to sit back, pull out some old photos, and step back in time. Lovely post! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you for understanding LuAnn, must admit, I have missed not being able to blog. Hope you are keeping well. God bless.

  4. That is a really full working day! I hope you really, really, really like babies!
    What a lovely bonus that cabinet provided.

    • Thank you Col, the job is only for three months, and yes, I really, really love babies. Finding the photos was a great bonus to us. Nice hearing from you again. God bless you my friend.

  5. Thanks for sharing your typical haute fashion mode with us in the early 70’s Linda. Purple and mint green combination ha ha. ๐Ÿ™‚ I am also of this generation and it revives treasured memories of such good times. Your Granny crรจche duties sound wonderful and I am sure the kiddies love hearing the stories you share with them. You and Rob bring such joy to your following with your talented writing. God bless a special couple. Trust Rob is feeling better after the whip-lash ordeal. Sorry to hear of the accident, just so relieved you are both doing OK and not seriously hurt. Take care. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you so much Zita, I must say the photos were a great find, and off coarse we had a bit of a giggle at our attire. As for the granny crรจche’ duties, I LOVE it.
      Rob is over the whip-lash, and we are both well, thank you for asking Zita. God bless you.

  6. I love real photos! I treasure my old picture albums! I enjoy looking at them and taking the trip down memory lane. These were great pics…in the first one, Rob kinda looks Clint Eastwood-ish…and you are adorable. The second one made me smile at the obvious happiness.
    I worked at a preschool for two years – exhausting work – I bet you’re great and well loved.

    whiteladyinthehood
    • Thank you for your kind words about Rob and I, his head will probably swell to twice it size now, thinking he looks like Clint Eastwood….hehehe.
      The babies are aged from six to eight months , and there are twenty of them. Luckily there are four of us taking care of them, but I must admit that at the end of the day, I am exhausted. Love what I’m doing though, and it is only for three months as I am a standby. Great hearing from you again.

  7. It is lovely to find old photos and remember the happy times. Hoe many more such times will be there for you together.

  8. Wonderful post – you’re right … he looks like one of the Usual Suspects *smile – I’m glad that he has expanded a bit – suits him much better … the last photo is just glimmering of happy – thank you so much for sharing, very precious.

    • Hahaha…….we really thought that we were soooo stylish. How are you doing Viveka? It was so good to hear from you. God bless.

      • Thanks, Linda – had a really bad week … so sore, that is why I haven’t posted any proper posts and only photos.
        Thanks for asking. I think you’re very stylish for the period of time. But I think most of us look younger today than we did in the 70’s *laughing

  9. I am so happy for you, that you found these pics. Makes me wonder if other family members may have pics of you that could be copied..

    • Thank you Mrs. P, we did ask around after the flood, and found some photos of the children when they were toddlers, which was such a bonus. Lovely talking to you again, God bless you.

  10. You must be over the moon to have found these pics!

  11. I’m glad you found these treasures and chose to share them with us, Linda. Photos such as these add a depth and a level of intimacy to a post that make it all the more delightful. Good luck on your new job.
    Russ

    • Thank you for the good wishes Russ, and yes, we were thrilled when we found the two photos. My word, we thought we were so fashionable, Rob in a purple suit and me in a green mini…….what were we thinking!!! Must admit, we had a good giggle about it.
      So good to hear from you Russ, God bless you.

  12. Lovely ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Finding those photos must have really brought back so many thoughts and memories, and yes, time goes all to swiftly. I don’t know how to slow it downโ€ฆI’ve been trying! ๐Ÿ™‚ Blessings to you working with those little ones. And it’s really nice to hear from you. Those are long days! ox

    • They certainly did, we were over the moon when we found them. If you ever find out how to slow down time….. Please bottle it and send it to me.
      I am a standby for the NG church chreche, normally they call on me when someone is sick, or on holiday. This time I will be working for +- three month until they can find someone permanent. I love working with the little ones, they are so precious, but I must admit that at the end of the day, I feel like I have had a good workout at the gym.
      God bless you my friend, loved hearing from you.

  14. What wonderful photos, both of them! What a wonderful find for you! ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. Awwwwwwwwwwwww….how adorable.

  16. You made me laugh about mafia connection ๐Ÿ™‚ You are both very special couple dear Linda and seems so beautiful. I know what means to lose the photographs, I had too, but time goes on and you will share many photographs together, and I love you both of you. Blessing and Happiness, Thank you, love, nia

    • Thank you Nia for those kind words, so good to hear from you. I have been missing my blogging friends, but hopefully I will have more time to blog after three months. Sorry about your photos, how did you lose them? God bless you my friend, lots of hugs coming your way.

  17. Now that is precious indeed Rob and you and Linda are quite the couple. Having such Mafia connections are good. hahahaha.
    So glad you found the photo’s Linda. Don’t work too hard hon and enjoy. ๐Ÿ˜€ *hugs*

    • Thank you Sonel, when I look at Rob’s purple suit and my green mini……. I don’t know what we were thinking!!!!! He he he. But I am very pleased that we found the photos. The hours I work makes for a long day, but I am loving it, and it is only for three months.
      How great to be talking to you again Sonel. God bless.

      • Well, you made quite a beautiful pair Linda and still do. Sounds like you are having fun and I am glad. Enjoy hon!

        Great to be talking to you too hon. Miss you. ๐Ÿ˜€ *hugs*

  18. Oh no… when I was in the Mafia….. I found this gorgeous woman, look at her… delicious, and she still is….

  19. How absolutely lovely. Thank you, Linda and Bulldog, for sharing. You look so happy; it warms my heart so very much!!! Blessings on the both of you that you will share many more photo ops together!!!!

Go on say something, I really want to hear what you have to say..

